This past week my husband and I ditched the kiddos and spent five days in McCall, Idaho. We haven’t taken a kid-free vacation in 7 years and were anxious to have some time to ourselves. This provided a great opportunity to drink some tasty brews.

McCall surprisingly has two brew pubs, both of which offer a great atmosphere. The first brewery we visited was a rustic pub that combined their brew facility with the bar. As an avid home brewer I enjoyed this. I loved watching the brewer take his hydrometer readings while I sipped.  The beer was enjoyable. I appreciated the brewer’s use of East Kent Golding in their IPA.  The other brew pub offered a nice atmosphere and a delicious porter. I was disappointed in their 190 IBU IPA though. That seemed truly excessive.

We enjoyed a variety of beers on our trip. The two I’ll remember most fondly are the PBR I had at Brundage ski resort after fighting the slopes in the midst of a frigid snow storm and the Widmer O’Ryely IPA. I knocked a couple back over sushi and truly enjoyed the body and hop profile. I typically loathe Widmer’s brews but was pleasantly surprised by this delicious IPA.

My husband and I had a great time getting away. Good food and good beer are two things we enjoy tremendously. Throw in some skiing (downhill and cross country) and a beautiful natural hot springs, I’ve got my dream vacation.

And as always, it was great coming home to five kids that I missed dearly. Vacations are wonderful, but coming home is priceless.

